One Nite Only Band Around a Little Longer



Photo by Joe McGarity
The Fantom Penguin sat in on a recording session with the One Nite Only Band at Somewhere Else Studios as they set down a track for a new television series.  bilcrook, the band’s founder, told the Fantom Penguin how the group began.
He told us, “I moved up here to Northern California and had played music all my life in Central California; was looking for a place to play, went to the area jams and it wasn’t long before I was hosting jams at my home.”
“I play guitar.  I can play bass.  I play keyboards.  I used to try to play harmonica until Jerry Short showed up and started playing harmonica and I’ve never picked it up since.”
Harmonica Player Jerry Short said,  “One Nite Only’s been together forever, probably ten, eleven years.  It’s changed faces many, many times.”
Bassist Jerome Said told us,  “I came into this town called Red Bluff and I didn’t know nobody, but there was a jam, a blues jam at the Palomino Room, I think it was and I just stumbled in there and played a little bit and took some numbers and everything.  And I had a chance to glance at bil that time and we played and everything and it was a beautiful moment.  And one thing about musicians, you know we’re all like brothers and sisters, we have that connection no matter what, you know?  But it’s kind of hard to borrow a dime or a nickel from one of them.  You know, you’re just stuck.”
Jerry Short continued, “One Nite Only’s a special events band, so we pretty much play just about anywhere you want.  Again, special events; we like doing public service stuff.  KIXE’s been real good to us.  We’ve had a lot of fun with them.”
bilcrook added, “Oh, we’ve been working with KIXE for over eleven years.  It started out I met some people from KIXE at some S.V.C. retreats, Service and Volunteer Coalition retreats and the relationship grew and we volunteer every year.  The band’s been successfully auctioned off there a number of times and we’ve played live on KIXE.  It’s been a great relationship.  It’s been good for the band.  We just hope and pray that it’s been just as good for KIXE, one of the greatest choices as far as TV viewing in the Northstate.”
The new series in need a tune is Unjunked, a locally produced series which encourages creative recycling and re-purposing and not coincidentally hosted by this reporter.
“Our music is kind of like Unjunked,” said bilcrook, “ It’s been re-purposed, redirected, recycled, redone, refinished, re-shined and, yeah, we think it’s real appropriate for Unjunked.”

Leave a comment